Odin Wins for Men the Magic Mead

Creation of Mead

Kvasir was a god of Knowledge. He was so wise that there were no questions he could not answer. He travelled around the world to give knowledge to mankind. One day, he visited the dwarves Fjalar and Galar. They killed him and poured his blood into two vats and a pot. They mixed his blood with honey, thus creating a mead which made anybody who drank it a "poet or scholar".

From the Dwarves to Suttungr

Fjallar and Gallar become bold by drinking the Magic Mead, but in their souls they were villains who liked to play evil tricks. They once invited a harmless and simple giant, Gilling,. They took him to sea, intentionally steered it onto the rocks which destroyed the boat and the giant, who couldn’t swim, drowned. The dwarves then came back ashore on pieces of the ships and went home and broke the news to Gilling's wife, which plunged her deep in grief. Fjallar proposed showing her the place where her husband had drowned but the dwarf Gallar got tired of her weeping, went before her and dropped a millstone on her head when she crossed the threshold of the house.

When Gilling's son, Suttungr, learned what had happened, he went to the dwarves and led them to a reef which was covered with water at high tide. The dwarves begged him and offered him the mead in compensation for his father's death. Suttungr agreed. When he came back home, he stored the mead in a place called Hnitbjörg where his daughter, Gunnlöd, was in charge of guarding it. It is important to mention that Gunnlöd was once beautiful and loving Giant admired by many, but Suttungr looking for guardian of Magic Mead put a spell on her, changing Gunnlöd into a witch with long teeth and sharp nails.

 

Theft by Odin

Odin met nine slaves who were scything hay and offered to sharpen their scythes. His whetstone worked so well that they all wanted to buy it. Odin threw it up in the air and the slaves struggled for it to death, cutting each other's throats.

Then he spent the night at Baugi's place. Baugi was Suttung's brother. He complained that business did not go well since his slaves had killed each other and he could not get anybody to stand in for them. Odin, who said his name was Vegtam the Wanderer, proposed to do their work... so he stayed during summer did the work as agreed and in exchange for it ask for a draught of Suttung's mead. Baugi agreed, saying that he would try to persuade his brother.  He went to Suttung's, who refused to give a single drop of the beverage.

Odin then suggested Baugi use a trick. He gave him the drill and asked him to dig into Hnitbjörg Mountain where the Magic Mead was hidden. After Baugi drilled a whole in the mountain Vegtam slipped into it, having taken the form of a snake. Baugi seeing the opportunity tried in vain to hit him and to kill him with the drill.

Oddin arrived by Gunnlöd, he kissed her and took the spell off. She became so grateful that she give away the Magic Mead in favour. They spent together three nights and then they found hidden paths to the way out of the mountain. Odin took the Magic Mead then transformed into an eagle and flew away.

奧丁為男人贏得神奇的蜂蜜酒

蜂蜜酒的起源

Kvasir,知識之神,天下沒有他答不出來的問題,同時他也環遊世界向人類傳授知識。有一天,他拜訪了矮人Fjalar 和Galar,他們殺了Kvasir,並把他的血倒入兩個大桶子和一個鍋裡與蜂蜜混合在一起,從而創造了蜂蜜酒,任何喝下去的人都將成為一位詩人或學者。

從DwarvesSuttungr

Fjallar 和Gallar因喝蜂蜜酒而變得大膽,但骨子裡還是一個喜歡惡作劇的惡棍。有一次,他們帶一個無害且簡單的巨人Giling到海邊,故意把船推到一個岩石上,不會游泳的巨人因此而淹死了。然後矮人們回到岸上,向Giling的妻子帶來這個悲痛的消息。之後,Fjallar帶著巨人的妻子去他淹死的地方,但是矮人Gallar厭倦了她一直哭,並在他穿過房門時把一塊磨石扔在他頭上。

當Giling的兒子,Suttungr知道發生什麼事後,他把兩個矮人帶到漲潮的礁石邊。矮人們向他求饒並且送他蜂蜜酒作為補償。Suttungr接受並回到家,他把蜂蜜酒放在一個名叫Hnitbjörg的地方,由他的女兒Gunnlöd,負責守護它。值得一提的是,Gunnlöd曾經是一位美麗的巨人,但是Suttungr把Gunnlöd變成了一個長長的牙齒和尖利的女巫,讓他成位Magic Mead的守護者

奧丁的盜竊

Odin遇到了九個在收割茅草的奴隸,並且幫他們磨鐮刀,但由於他的磨刀石太好了,他們都搶著要買。Odin把磨刀石丟到空中,並把滑破了奴隸們的喉嚨。

然後Odin到Baugi家過夜,對其抱怨他的生意因他的奴隸們互相殘殺而下滑,Odin就說他願意幫他工作一個夏天,以Suttung的蜂蜜酒作為酬勞。Baugi說他會嘗試說服Suttung,但他連一口都不願意給。

之後,Odin給了Baugi 一把鑽頭並且叫他在藏有蜂蜜酒的Hnitbjörg Mountain鑽洞。在Baugi鑽完洞之後,vegtam滑了進去,變成的一條蛇。Baugi看到後嘗試用鑽頭殺死他。

Odin到達Gunnlöd的所在地並且親吻她,解除了她的魔咒。為了表現感恩之意,他將蜂蜜酒送給了Odin。他們在一起待了三個晚上然後找到了一個密道離開山頭,之後Odin把蜂蜜酒變成一隻老鷹徜徉而去。